Sep 27, 2008

Sport - Cricket;Srikanth is new Chairman of Selectors - BCCI

MUMBAI: Former India captain Krishnamachari Srikkanth on Saturday became the new Chairman of the National Senior Cricket Selection Committee, replacing Dilip Vengsarkar at the helm of affiars.
He was appointed as the chief selector at the BCCI's 79th Annual General Meeting here, BCCI sources said.
Raja Venkat (East Zone), Surendra Bhave (West Zone), Narendra Hirwani (Central Zone) and Yashpal Sharma (North Zone) are the other four selctors.
Former Mumbai and India pace bowler Abui Kuruvilla was chosen as the junior selection panel chief at the two-day meeting, the sources said.
The other junior selectors picked include Sanjay Desai (South Zone), Sanjeev Sharma (North Zone), Rajesh Bora (East Zone) and R S Hans (Central Zone).
Sharad Pawar, who stepped down as the Board President at the AGM and was succeeded by Shashank Manohar, will head the BCCI's Marketing Committee, while Rajiv Shukla was elected as Chairman of the Finance Committee.
N Srinivasan was elected as the Secretary, Sanjay Jagdale became the new Joint Secretary and M P Pandove will be the new Treasurer. The trio was elected unopposed, they said.
Also elected unopposed were the five Vice-Presidents -- Shivlal Yadav, Chirayu Amin, Arindam Ganguly, Arun Jaitley and Lalit Modi, the sources said.

No comments: